Cream of carrot and basil

Have you ever had the feeling that you are doing something very wrong but you just don’t care because it’s feels so good? And no, I’m not talking about anything related to sex (I’m a married lady, so you better be respectful there!). I’m talking food.

As I wrote before I went experimenting with making cream soups.

The recipe I followed is pretty much nail on when it comes to creating a creamy decadent soup.

Cream of carrot and basil

I decided to go for carrot as I had lots at home, and there’s only so much carrot one can bake/mash/microwave/hide in pasta sauce.

Carrots are usually paired with coriander in soup. I’m not a big fan of coriander, and I didn’t have any in any case. I did have basil (I have a plant in my kitchen window sill actually), so carrot and basil cream soup on the menu today.

I followed the recipe pretty accurately. I ended up using about 3 tablespoons of flour, 3 cups of vegetable broth, a (biggish) twig of basil as an aromatic, vegetable oil (not butter), and 1/2 cup of cream.

The soup was amazing. If anything I’ll use 1/4 cup of cream next time I use this recipe. Decadent food is nice, but there’s something as too decadent.

Cream of carrot and basil

Categories: Vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

